Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Ignition wiring loom

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    UK
    Name
    Simon
    Posts
    128

    Default

    Does the 5.2 not have them?

    I have searched everywhere.. unless I am being totally blind I cant see them.

    I have replaced the coils so I have been in there with the covers off.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Cornwall
    Name
    Ian
    Posts
    128

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Red_SLR View Post
    Does the 5.2 not have them?

    I have searched everywhere.. unless I am being totally blind I cant see them.

    I have replaced the coils so I have been in there with the covers off.
    Just taken a cover off and there is a bracket around the coil, mounted on top of this bracket is what I assume is the ignition module. Same both sides. Thatís on a 2.7.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Sydney
    Name
    Ian Riddell
    Posts
    104

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSLR
    Does the 5.2 not have them?
    From this, I assume you have a 5.2 car. The 5.2 car has one Motronics ECU and two coil packs. The 2.7 car has two Motronics ECUs, two coil packs and two ignition power modules.

    I posted a wiring diagram on the previous page of a 5.2 F1 engine harness with nice graphics so you can identify the parts. If you don't have an F1 car, I will have to post another one.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    UK
    Name
    Simon
    Posts
    128

    Default

    Thanks yes I got that diagram. So no it does not have them, which explains why I cant find them

    So whats happening is it will cold start and run fine, drives fine no misfires.

    But at hot idle if its left to idle for more than a couple of mins it has an occasional misfire on the 5,6,7,8 bank. I think 7 or 8.

    I guess the next step is to pull the plugs and have a look.

    Its had new plugs though. And new coil packs and HT leads.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Sydney
    Name
    Ian Riddell
    Posts
    104

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Red_SLR View Post

    Its had new plugs though. And new coil packs and HT leads.
    I suppose for peace of mind that one of the new coil packs isn't faulty, you could interchange the coilpacks left to right to see if the problem transfers to the other bank.

    Did you gap the plugs? Do you have a Hills Engineering spark plug boot removal tool for easier removal?

    Unfortunately, the problem sounds very intermittent. It could be hard to track down, but if you're sure it's only two cylinders, it would make things a little easier. .

    Do you have any spare plug contacts (pins) to see if the coilpack connector sockets are tight.
    Last edited by Qavion; 26-04-2020 at 11:16 PM.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    UK
    Name
    Simon
    Posts
    128

    Default

    Pretty sure all is ok with the coil packs as I have the old ones and put those back on and it made no difference.

    The chaps who did my recent cambelt change did the plugs so I suspect they were gapped correctly.
    I sent them a video of the problem and they think it could be an air leak causing the mixture to be adjusted as it seems to come and then go away again only at idle and its fine on cold start so its only when it goes into hot idle that the fuel is adjusted on the fly

    I am going to have a look myself but probably just going to get them to take a look.

    I will report back once I know what it is!

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    UK
    Name
    Simon
    Posts
    128

    Default

    Just to close this off we never found out what was causing this but suspect a fouled plug.

    I have driven the car several times now and the issue has never returned. The first drive I did involved about 30 mins of motorway at steady 60mph so maybe that cleared the plugs.

    Either way its not done it in the last 150 miles or so!

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Sydney
    Name
    Ian Riddell
    Posts
    104

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Red_SLR View Post
    Just to close this off we never found out what was causing this but suspect a fouled plug.

    I have driven the car several times now and the issue has never returned. The first drive I did involved about 30 mins of motorway at steady 60mph so maybe that cleared the plugs.

    Either way its not done it in the last 150 miles or so!
    Great to hear. Thanks for the update, Simon

  9. #19
    Garvin's Avatar
    Garvin is offline Salesman's average 3 Series BMW Club Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Name
    Garvin
    Posts
    171

    Default

    Italian cars benefit from regular Italian tune-ups!
    I like red & cream!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. 360 F1 Wiring Loom routing help
    By achaddy in forum Technical Q & A
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 22-04-2017, 01:28 AM
  2. 456GT WIRING LOOM COLOURS
    By 456gtman in forum Technical Q & A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28-12-2009, 04:10 PM
  3. Early 360 wiring loom problems
    By t1grm in forum Technical Q & A
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 17-01-2007, 06:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •