What's new
Club Scuderia

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• Please take a minute to read this thread about our recent server issues and forum platform Switch

355 slow down light diy test procedure

KW355

As per the title I am not a mechanic so if any one wants to add anything or correct me please feel free to post up.
I recently had the sdl problem which seems to be a part of the ownership experience with any car that has one fitted.
First you need to see if your problem is actual cat/catbypass overheating or an indication fault, to do this you need to check the cat / catbypass pipe temperatures with a thermometer, obviously if the cats are too hot this is the problem.
My car is a 5.2 355, this has one thermocouple and ecu per side with one sdl light, I believe the 2.7 355 has has one thermocouple and ecu per side with two sdl lights. the U.S.A version has a third thermocouple and ecu in the 'y' pipe I believe.
The ecu's can be found by following the steel braided cables from the thermocouples on the cats to the ecu's. one ecu is by the lhs suspension top mount and the rhs is under the air pump behind the rear bumper.
Disconnect the two pin thermocouple plug from the ecu and test it with a multimeter on ohms or resistance scale. Both my thermocouples read the same on a multimeter i.e. about 2 ohms with a cold exhaust and about 22 ohms with a hot exhaust on tickover. Apparently the thermocouples generate a millivolt signal (I dont know the correct values) but low ohmic values similar to the above should indicate healthy thermocouples.
The 3 pin ecu plug should have the following d.c. voltages, 12v between the two power wires, and the following voltages to earth on the third signal wire;
0.5V @ 300°C
4.5V @1100°C